Basics.. How to start a Visual Journal

basics

Hey Creative Souls!

I have been doing visual journaling for about a year and a half now. When I started I called it Art Journaling, but I like the term visual or creative journal better!  I have not shared much of that journey with you and I will soon in a post to talk about what it has done for me in my life, creatively and otherwise! But today I wanted to go over some ways of how to keep a visual journal. I love it, I really do!

You don’t need any fancy supplies to start, I got very carried away when I first started. I way overbought supplies for my journal. In reality, I now see that the tools I am telling you about today are the main ones I use.  Here are the bare bone basics of what you need:

SUPPLIES:

  • A journal or a sketchbook ( now there a bunch of different kinds, but just use what feels right to you, thicker paper if you want to use paint otherwise just about anything will do) Don’t get caught up in the spiral bound, or not just choose something that feels not too scary to you!
  • A gluestick
  • Pens, again there a zillion choices.. The fun basics, metallic gel pens ( gold and or silver), black pen, sharpie.. some other fun ones are the white out pen, colored gel pens but just pick up one or two things that are appealing to you.Or none at all, just use your basic pen for the journaling!
  • Magazines, catalogs, You can choose partial images, full pages (depending of course on the size of your journal/notebook.) Select words, phrases etc. Rip out whatever inspires you and calls to you!
  • A few fun extras , some paint you can  pick 2 colors you like, and get the cheap stuff the ones that are $1 at the craft store and a cheap paintbrush.

Now you are ready to get your visual journaling on! Visual journaling can be used for all sorts of things. Just allow yourself to play and to experiment.

You have the supplies, now what?!

Ideas to start filling up your Visual Journal:

  • Collage, maybe it’s with a theme maybe it’s just images or a “story” that appeals to you
  • Put a image on a page and write whatever you want on the rest of it ( ideas below)
  • Layer paint and images
  • Glue in photos you have taken
  • Put your dreams, make lists, vent, write what you are grateful for, put a quote or song lyrics that you love, take images of what inspires you and just glue them in.

Those are the basics, this is a subject I really do love and I will share more with you on in the future. Here are some of my visual journal pages

 

There are a few examples of some of my visual journaling. I do several collages as well. It’s

I really really urge you to try visual journaling, play around with it after a while you will start to get a feel of what your style is. It’s been a wonderful healing, learning tool for me!

Here is to living Inspired, Creative and Empowered

Heather

PS: Update I now give an affordable Visual Journal eCourse check it out here

7 responses to “Basics.. How to start a Visual Journal

  1. Thank you fo being in my life. I look forward to recieving your newsletters and getting inspired. I love doing visual journals too. I started right afte my husband passed away and its been the greatest therapy anyone could have.

  2. Pingback: My Favorites of 2011- Journal Prompt + | Toliveinspired's Blog

  3. Pingback: CELEBRATION! 500th Post and a Giveaway! | Toliveinspired's Blog

  4. Pingback: I say hello to visual journal-ing « Life at a Random

  5. Pingback: 35 ways to create-Even if you don’t think you’re creative! | Toliveinspired's Blog

  6. What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve
    discovered It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads.
    I’m hoping to give a contribution & aid different users like its aided me.
    Great job.

Leave a Reply

