Allowing Defeat before you start…

Hey Beautiful Souls,

I have a few bigger dreams for 2012, these dreams will take a financial investment. The thing is my circumstances have changed recently that if continued along this path will make it difficult to accomplish next year.  That is a true statement, but what I did realize is that I was operating with a mindset of defeat before I had even really started. I was giving up before I had really sat down to try to figure out what I needed, when and how long it would take to make that happen.

I was allowing myself to be defeated before I started or tried. I see other people in my life do this as well. We are giving up before we have really put ourselves in it.

How can we tell if we are in the defeatist mindset before we even start (or at most stages of a goal, dream etc..) It’s our language. Notice it, how  do you talk about that goal? Do you use words and phrases like:

-I can’t

-I wont (be able to… )

-It’s not going to happen

-There is no way

-It’s impossible

You get the idea. You will notice my language in the start of this post was, it will be difficult, that still is not the most affirming statement, but it is more positive then the ones I have listed as it still leaves room for hope.

What I am working on daily is affirming statements to change my situation (as well as some other actionable tangible steps) to help make the dreams and goals I talked about be true.

So the next time you find yourself doing that, allowing defeat before you even start see if there is a way you can rephrase it. Spend your energy on affirming and coming up with actions (and then taking them of course) that will put you on a path of success and empowerment not one of defeat and powerlessness.

Have you had a situation like that in your life? How did you deal with it?

Here is to living Inspired, Creative and Empowered

Heather

Leave a Reply

